Treat Island, Eastport
Located between Eastport and Lubec in the deep waters of Passamaquoddy and Cobscook bays, Treat Island has a rich history and abounds in natural beauty.
Treat Island is great for:
- Picnicking – Enjoy inviting picnic locations from Treat Island’s open meadows and cobble beaches.
- Hiking – Explore the preserve’s 1.2-mile network of trails featuring breathtaking views of Passamaquoddy Bay and a stop at the monument where American Revolutionary War Col. John Allan is buried.
- Paddling – Be prepared for challenging tidal currents, stay aware of changing weather conditions, and consider hiring a local guide before embarking on a kayak adventure to Treat Island.
How to get there
Both Lubec and Eastport have municipal boat ramps, which offer all-tide access for hand-carry and motor boats. Small boats can land easily on the island’s southern shore on either side of the dike between Treat and Dudley Islands. Despite close proximity, access from both Lubec and Eastport is made challenging by very strong currents and an average 22-foot tide in this part of Passamaquoddy Bay.
For a complete map with legend and guidelines, click on the Printable Preserve Map above.
Recorded history on Treat Island dates back to 1784, with the establishment of a trading post by Revolutionary War Colonel John Allan. Under the ownership of Upham Stowers Treat, in the 1840s, the island was home to a small fishing hamlet whose residents fished from weirs and smoked fish. During the US Civil War in the 1860s, an artillery battery and barracks were built to guard the Western Passage of Passamaquoddy Bay. By 1935, the US Government had acquired Treat Island in preparation for the development of the Passamaquoddy Tidal Power Project. The project was discontinued after only a year, but during that time a clay-cored, rock-filled dam was constructed between Treat and Dudley Islands. Today, the International Boundary Commission maintains range marks on the island, and the Army Corps of Engineers operates a marine concrete testing station on 3 acres on the island’s northwest side.
Information about Treat Island has been gathered with collaboration from the communities of Eastport, Lubec, Campobello and descendants of the island’s former residents. Learn more about Treat’s rich history and the story of Revolutionary War Hero Colonel John Allan.
Camping is Allowed
Fires Permitted Below High Water
- Contact Maine Forest Service at 207-827-1800 for permit
- Keep All Fires Below HighTide Line
- Do Not Cut or Break Tree Limbs, Dead or Alive
- Leave No Fire Unattended
- Completely Extinguish All Fires
- Carry Out All Trash
– Including Human and Pet Waste and Toilet Paper
- Foot Traffic Only
- Do Not Remove Archaeological Artifacts!
- Please Respect the Privacy of Preserve Neighbors